Groping through some ancient ideas, July 19, 2011

So much has happened and yet nothing has happened except maybe at the molecular levels of my cells.  We are continually amazed at the numbers of people and their friends and relatives praying for us. Rick expressed this well in an email to ones praying for us,” It is powerful to see how God works through his people, but it is quite humbling to be the recipient of His mercy acted out through you. “Still we are very grateful and overwhelmed, realizing God is hearing and answering your prayers even as you voice them.

            We sat for the second drip of chemotherapy on Thursday, week before last. That was July 7. Whee-doggies!  After this round, I experienced greater lethargy and malaise. Think slug.  “Quality of life is reduced” (per the American Cancer Society) as a result of dry mouth and bad taste, low appetite, and remarkable grumpiness.  This explains the lack of writing last week.  No, dear extroverted friends- a good laugh out loud girl night is not the thing.  That would be like inviting your friends over the week you have the flu or mono. Mercies attending those complaints include no nausea or vomiting, no mouth sores, no real pain (!) and the bad stuff is going away.  Another mercy is that chemo probably is working. The next two weeks will focus on 6 (six) small, full plates a day, taking Every Single supplement on time, reading, writing and doing yoga per Wii and restorative techniques with sunning to increase vitamin D levels and tan. Believe it or not, that’s a busy day.

            Now, deeper things.  Once before I wrote about crying.  That blog entry elicited many responses and led me to think more about sorrow, about Our response to tragic, horrible, frightening or unwanted things.  Meanwhile, my friend gave us a copy of Michael Card’s A Sacred Sorrow, which is very well written about the lost art of lamenting.  For a brief look at the idea, read Psalm 13. (Go on, look it up.) Rick put the word “cancer” in where psalmist had written “enemy”.  The piece shattered off the page at me as Rick read it aloud one morning.  That writer cries out to God.  How long will I be in sorrow all day? How long will You hide your face from me?  In essence, I’m suffering! He writes other hard questions that the sophisticated modern American Christian is hardly allowing herself to ask or admit thinking.

            It occurred to me that as kind and well meaning as the cheerup cards and “stay positive” encouragements are; they may be off the mark. This is not a soccer game, where you just have to keep your chin up.  Jesus wept and wept and wept until he bled. and then died.  Actually.  He saw (sees) and knew (knows) about very bad, very sad things.  Chemo, cancer and the threat of life’s end are fairly public game so the person gets hugs, cards in the mail, meals and kindnesses of every description.  However, many (most?) suffer privately and deeply without these comforts and ministrations.  (This is inequitable.)

            Anyway, Jesus suffered through these frightful, evil, horrible things without the comfort of God’s face shining upon Him.  The believers whom I admire and in whom is found a deep, steady peace are those, I think, who have followed Him and clung to Him through suffering.  They have been sorrowful and have lamented in their art, work, writing, silent tears late at night. all nights or primal screams in the shower or commute.  There is something to this!  He is marked by unmistakable joy; His followers through Valley of the shadow of death are more fearless and deeply joyful.  It’s enough to make you want to be like them.  (Sort of.)

            This is an early effort at idea sorting.  Could it be? Our don’t-worry-be-happy culture is cheating us out of the truth of living well? How is lamenting opposite depression!? What might biblical Lamentation do to depression? Why is Jesus most acquainted with sorrow and most known by His joy?  What about that famous heavenly idea of tears being dried?  Don’t you have to cry first?  To my first Cry blog, some did not want to see me sad.  These were the best mothers and kindest, gentlest men among us.  Others wrote back with knowingness. (sorry, editor: “knowledge” don’t work there.)

            So- just thinking over here in my cool back porch space with the comforts of your emails and such, a remarkably dumb cat who is learning to snuggle me two years after my bodyguard dog died, great starbucks coffee and all the water I can drink.  Underneath, this is a seriously joyful experience. Besides, my mama got that glam wig for me!  Thank you, Mother! 

            We are enjoying your blog responses.  To the extent you can make your remarks public, please do so.  There is strength and wisdom in many counselors and you see, I am groping my way through some ancient ideas.

(love!  ellen)

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Groping through some ancient ideas, July 19, 2011

  1. Jaime Cruz says:

    Wow, Ellen and Rick … that’s a lesson for me … the ancient and biblical “art” (practice, necessity) of lamenting. And staying anchored in God, in his Son our healer, through it all … that is what God the Holy Spirit will help you and us do. As you two suffer so much, when I see you smile when we either worship together on a Sunday or elsewhere (a session meeting, for Rick?), I will interpret that smile as, “No, I’m not happy about this nor desire it, and it is the hardest trial and pain I have ever faced, and my smile means that I know whom I have believed.” (I do not mean to put words in your mouths, Ellen and Rick. I am thinking aloud here.) I would expect that now you know Christ much better, better than I know him, and can understand better his suffering and his cross, and the necessary ugliness of everything involved in bringing many sons to glory? Thank-you for letting the rest of us also grow in Jesus as well as in our own humanity through your sharing your hearts and lessons with us, turning cancer into an opportunity for holy ministry. May God continue to sustain you.

    • ellen says:

      Jaime!
      You have properly expressed so many things I have left out. Thank you for the IN- sight. Steeped in this culture of comfort seekers, suffering is opposite of where we live. God shows us a different path through my cancer. Oddly, it is sweeter and more joyful than the comfort escape we all so desperately pursue. I get it that cancer is pale compared to what Jesus suffered on the cross. But He sure does understand and wash and heal what it is we have got going on.
      Thank you.
      Ellen

  2. Ah Ellen, I couldn’t agree with you more. Having been dealing with “quality of life” issues for the past 5 years now, I cringe when around don’t worry be happy people. Your day sounds a lot like my typical day, and people always want me to go places with them or do things. We modern day American Christians have such a difficult time with just being still and enduring whatever suffering we are given. I find that when all else fails, to sit in a dark room and simply say the Jesus Prayer over and over is all that helps me. I no longer have any words to say of my own. I’ve cried oceans of tears and ranted and raved; I’ve begged and pleaded; I’ve surrendered; I’ve asked when, when, when will it end. I haven’t heard back. And yet…in the midst of pain, loneliness, darkness, and helplessness, I feel joy – which is an entirely different thing than happiness.

    • ellen says:

      Chris.
      I love your answer. I hate your ongoing pain. Forgive me for not standing more faithfully at your side in the suffering. I love that you have shared your so-thorough understanding about where it is I am groping.
      At a very superficial level and at risk of being one of those annoyingly advising friends (No offense anybody) our Paleo diet is highly suspect at making surprising metabolic and healing changes. It is radical. Different from what any normal American eats. But you have to ask why we are the sickest of any known race on the planet. ever.
      Ha. I laugh at myself when I try to figure out what is working. Is it all this crazy prayer that is all over me? Is it changing my extra cellular fluid from acid to alkaline and choking out the cancer? Is it the other 12 likewise cancer killing alternative meds I am taking every day and night? Is it chemo? Is it the diet. Is it your tears for me? Is it ALL just God?
      I will like getting these answers one day!
      thank you my old friend. can’t wait to see you. i forget. when?

  3. Karen Grothe says:

    If we can’t learn from each other, what is the point of fellowship? Thanks for fellowshipping with me today, Ellen. This process of dying that we are all experiencing in one degree or another can be seen as a time that ‘stinks’ (the present day vernacular of this word) or is an aroma that draws others to Christ – your aroma is drawing me to Christ. One of the hardest things about walking through serious illness is not knowing if what you are doing to combat it is the ‘right’ thing. Now I am thinking that this is the wrong perspective – a more true perspective is – how am I trusting/walking with God in the middle of the ‘doing’. Your honesty and heart to please God is hope-giving. I know it is selfish of me to say – but please don’t stop inviting us to join you on your journey – God is surely in it and you are challenging our walks with Him.

    • ellen says:

      thank you so much, Karen!
      your comments encourage me for that moment when i timidly hit “send”. it is akin to pushing the red button in a submarine movie. scary! Dying is a thing with which to be reckoned. Suffering of all sorts is another. Mine is easily public; I see that Most people have suffering that is so deeply personal and lonely. But, stop! Is not Christ more deeply in there with them. I believe He must be. It is His being and spirit to be!

      Different note! a no carb diet group is forming and I am the hinge pin who is finding us and putting us together. Raw milk source! Cauliflower shredded as rice! It works. Snap peas for dipping. Wine. I just need a good alternative for wine. Oh well.

      love.
      e

  4. Claire DeBakey says:

    Dear Ellen,

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts on lamentations. I agree that sorrow has a part in a fully lived life that is often overlooked–or suppressed–mostly because the circumstances that provoke that feeling can be so unpleasant. (I also once cried out to God, from whom I had distanced myself for years, “How long will I be in sorrow ?” That is when Christ made himself known to me and I first believed in him.) I also suspect that by expressing sorrow, we prevent or reverse certain types of depression (i.e., situationally based depression; chemically based depression being another kettle of fish).

    I would think that lamentation could be one of several effective weapons in the spiritual and physical battle against cancer. How wonderful of Rick, to read that psalm to you and substitute the word, “cancer!” Because there is evidence that envisioning victory in this battle is helpful for the outcome, I suspect that other emotions, which would lead out of lamentation and into a positive, energetic determination to prevail, would also be helpful. Perhaps anger–another emotion that Christians sometimes (perhaps wrongfully) deny themselves–would facilitate that transition from sorrow to determination. Expressing anger can also be helpful in lifting depression, which is sometimes described as “anger turned inward.”

    Of course, as the psalms makes plain, one can expect to experience the cycle of lamentation and conviction of victory more than once. Someone once shared a helpful picture: that it is possible to hold both joy and sorrow in one’s hands at the same time and feel peace. That picture has helped me get through some rough times, and it sounds as if you were doing something similar when you enjoyed the quiet time with your cat.

    Please excuse my ramblings if they are not helpful to you. On the more mundane topic of food, I want to add a few more possibly cancer-fighting veges to your arsenal. You may want to check out studies (e.g., through the websites of the M.D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, or the National Institutes of Health) on particular Asian mushrooms and other foods. MD Anderson had an interesting soup recipe that included shiitake, maitake, and oyster mushrooms plus french lentils, onions, garlic, and a few other healthy ingredients. If you would like the recipe, I can scan a pdf and send it to your email. Of course, your advisor can tell you if there are contraindications to any of these more exotic ingredients in your particular situation.

    I do hope that we get to at least talk again before I leave town. I’ll try to call you soon. Otherwise, I’ll check for blog entries.

    In Christ’s love,
    your sister,
    Claire

    • ellen says:

      Yes Claire!
      both sorrow and joy simultaneously. Odd but deeply true. thanks for capturing that thought, because i felt so remiss in not expressing more joy in what i wrote.
      thanks!
      ellen

  5. Julie K says:

    Few words in response : ). I love you bunches. This blog entry gripped my heart. You are an amazing writer! True joy cannot be felt until we feel great pain. God is so good to reveal all these incredible truths to you. And lastly, I cannot agree with you more. Suffering is part of God’s plan, not something to be avoided, escaped from, or talked around. I love your honesty and openness <3. I am blessedto be your friend.

    Julie

    • ellen says:

      ha. Julie.
      thanks for your prayers, tears, smiles and urges to build muscle. you have a huge place in my life. but i am terrified to join you in a spin class. still. that said. it seems Jesus loves to take me to terrifying places. (you can leave that one alone. He’ll handle it for us!)
      love.
      e

  6. I Know it doesn’t help that my heart hurts for you, but it does. In reading your post today, I thought of when Peter didn’t want Jesus to suffer and then I thought of the response of our Savior. You are loved and in our prayers everyday

    • ellen says:

      it does help for people to hurt for you! one cannot do it alone- and I am convinced that your hurt somehow has lightened mine to an acceptable level. This is what I think Lewis teaches us in “Till We Have Faces”. Marilyn read it with me in 7th grade, and I think she got that concept, one of the hardest in the whole book.
      thanks for the prayers. and i mean that!
      elln

  7. Emily says:

    Hi Ms. Ellen,
    Thank you for all of your blog posts! Thank you also for praying for my parents :o). I was thinking about the idea of putting on a happy face. Do you think when we do that we’re in a way hiding away testimony of God’s power? That we’re trying to say to the world, “I’ve got it all together.” What better way to testify to God’s love and power than to let the world see our suffering, and in that same moment show the world the God whose plan we trust in? Maybe I’m being naive. My Bible study is looking at 2 Corinthians. Maybe someone has already given you these verses, but I hope that they encourage you… “We do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about the hardships we suffered in the Province of Asia. We were under great pressure, far beyond our ability to endure, so that we despaired even of life. Indeed, in our hearts we felt the sentence of death. But this happened that we might not rely on ourselves but on God, who raises the dead. He has delivered us from such a deadly peril, and he will deliver us. on him we have set our hope that he will continue to deliver us as you help us by your prayers. Then many will give thanks on our behalf for the gracious favor granted us in answer to the prayers of many.” 2Corinthians 1:8-11. I pray that God will answer yours and our prayers that He may be glorified. Thank you for your example of faith, in all of your tears and praises!
    Much love and prayer,
    Emily

    • ellen says:

      Dear Emily!
      Well. You just answered my question from Paul’s words. I was trying to think about how do you suffer properly? Clearly, you don’t want to grouse, grumble or snap at those around you, all of which I excel in and need to wear a duct tape patch somewhere as a tangible reminder. Just put it on as needed. On the other hand- a fake, forced smile is disgusting. People know and wonder what special kind of crazy is that? Or they love it because our culture says “stay positive”- don’t let it get you down!” etc. blech. I am down, (idiot).
      Paul did it. He despaired of life, was pressured, beyond ability to endure, sentenced to death and said it. Then explained the very simple reason! Over and over this summer, Rick and I are learning to not rely on ourselves but to look to our Deliverance!
      Your faith is shining back at me too! Thanks so much. and for the good words too.
      love!
      e

  8. Ginger says:

    Dear Ellen,
    I feel as though I am reading a great Christian classic and can’t wait to get to the next chapter. Thank you for sharing your journey. You have untangled emotions and sorted out words and have created a piece of true beauty. This is no surprise. You’ve touched my heart and I am blessed. Your body may be small but your words are huge and deep and profound. I like the idea of the lost art of lamenting. I’ve always suspected that the world would be a happier (or rather more joyful) place if we all just cried (kicked and screamed) a little more. I love you, Ellen. You continue to be in my prayers.
    Ginger

  9. ellen says:

    Let’s all do the happy baby pose! The funny thing is when you lead us in that movement, I get conflicted as to whether to laugh or cry. These two things are linked together from way back, are they not!?
    Thanks for you kind words too.
    love you!
    e

  10. Claire DeBakey says:

    Thanks, Ellen, for replying to my post. I regret that I was not able to spend time with you before I left. I did, however, have a profoundly affecting mission week in Appalachia, where God placed me among people suffering in diverse other ways–from addiction; incarceration; hunger; poverty; inadequate shelter; molestation; and suicide. All of this in less than one week! I was blessed to be able to provide emotional support to several of these people at critical moments in their lives, as well as to work in a local food pantry with fellow team members. I am now unpacking my dorm room at seminary and continue to think about and pray for you. Blessings to you, Rick, and your family. Claire

Leave a comment